Manfred Mann's Earth Band, Scarborough Penthouse

Manfred Mann’s Earth Band: Wednesday 5th November 1975, The Penthouse, Scarborough

MMEB logoManfred Mann (keyboards) / Chris Thompson (vocals, guitars) / Dave Flett (guitars, vocals) / Colin Pattenden (bass) / Chris Slade (drums, percussion)

This was the first of two consecutive nights that I saw the band at the same venue and I well remember elements of them. I also believe that these were the only two occasions when I actually had to queue to get into the Penthouse, the sweetener being that, because it was an anonymous pot-luck band, it was only 20p admission both nights, even when the cat was out of the bag by the time of the second night!

MMEB Solar FireThe Penthouse posters for the month (see below) had announced that a “Top International Rock Band” was going to put on a couple of gigs on these two nights. The text continued “Due to the unusual nature of these concerts we are unable to inform you in advance the name of the Band”. It wasn’t the first time that the Penthouse would put on an almost ‘secret’ gig; generally it would be a contractual obligation that the identity of the band couldn’t be revealed.

MMEB publicity
Bronze Records publicity photograph.

Speculation was, of course, rife but word soon got out that it was Manfred Mann putting together a new line-up of the Earth Band before taking it out on the road. Mann wanted to use the two gigs as ‘tests’ of the new band that he had put together which now included Dave Flett and Chris Thompson, both on guitars and vocals, to replace the out-going Mick Rogers. The success of these two gigs were going to be the cornerstone of the next planned tour Of the Earth Band.

MMEB Good EarthI was thrilled! They were – and still are – one of my favourite bands and I already had several of their LPs – ‘Messin”, ‘Solar Fire‘, ‘The Good Earth‘ and ‘Nightingales & Bombers‘ – so I was well up for these gigs.

MMEB NightingalesLooking back I would guess that the band were touring the ‘Nightingales…’ album as it had been released in August and by waiting until November this would have given the newcomers to the line-up plenty of time to learn some of the songs on that album as well as much of the back catalogue material which would be used during this tour. And just around the corner was the smash hit ‘Blinded By The Light‘, their famous Bruce Springsteen cover, so they might even have played this – I can’t remember, but I do know that I thoroughly enjoyed the gig, and would be there in the queue again the following evening.

MMEB Messin

platformend, the MMEB Archive, has the following consolidated list of songs played live during 1975, so you can pick and choose from these the songs that you think I might have heard. As you can see from this list it certainly does appear that songs from the upcoming ‘Roaring Silence’ album (released on 27th August 1976) were performed this year and it seems more than likely that these would have been performed closer to the end of the year.

Possible setlist: Waiter There’s A Yawn In My Ear; Mercury/ Saturn; Messin’; Captain Bobby Stout (incorporating Glorified Magnified); Well Well Well (On The Road To Babylon); Spirits In The Night; Time Is Right; Davy’s On The Road Again; Father Of Day; Blinded By The Light; Mighty Quinn

1975_11
November 1975

2 thoughts on “Manfred Mann’s Earth Band: Wednesday 5th November 1975, The Penthouse, Scarborough”

  1. I seem to remember it being the same set both evenings and 20p entry and went to both. It might be wrong but I was told it was due to a new lineup. Have a vivid memory of a large bundle of of joss sticks burning on the stage!

    Like

    1. I certainly agree with the price and identical setlist, Stu.
      That makes perfect sense.
      And you’re spot on about it being due to rehearsing a new line-up – I think that I’ve mentioned this in the write-up for both nights.
      I can’t confirm the joss sticks, though; I’m not disputing that at all – I simply can’t remember! 😄

      Roger 🤘

      Like

Leave a comment