No Dice, Reading Festival - 1977

No Dice: Saturday 27th August 1977, Reading Festival

No DiceRoger Ferris (vocals) / Deezal Martin (guitars) / Gary Strange (bass, vocals) / Chris Wyles (drums)

According to their own website No Dice was a “blues/rock band in Stones/Faces style but with room to manoeuvre into more adventurous musical seas if the urge took them“. I can’t honestly remember what or how they played on the day, but I seem to recall that I enjoyed them. I can’t find a setlist for the gig but seeing as they only had one album on the go at the time – the imaginatively titled ‘No Dice‘ – my guess is that their short set would have consisted of tracks from that.

The 3rd September Melody Maker write-up for the weekend had this to say: “No Dice came across as sub-standard Jam, but occasionally the material was interesting, so I’d keep an eye on them in the future.”

Setlist: unknown

Here’s what the official newspaper programme had to say about the band…NO DICE 1NO DICE 2NO DICE

Leave a comment