Sailor, Scarborough Penthouse

Sailor: Wednesday 29th October 1975, The Penthouse, Scarborough

SAILOR Trouble albumThe ‘Trouble’ tour

Georg Kajanus (vocals, guitars) / Phil Pickett (keyboards, bass, vocals) / Henry Marsh (accordion, keyboards, vocals) / Grant Serpell (drums, vocals)

I’ve only just discovered this gig because I came across a Penthouse poster for October which advertises it.

As I have said many times elsewhere on this website, I have thrown away my original gig diary which was in the form of two ‘Band Books‘ so I cannot be 100% sure that I was in attendance at this gig but I can’t think of any reason why I shouldn’t have been, so I must assume that I was. Midweek ‘specials’ were always a bit awkward because of needing to be at school the following morning (I was at Sixth Form College at the time). Another problem could have been scraping together enough cash for a mid-weeker, because I wasn’t earning (except in the summer holidays). Fortunately this was never an issue for me – Mum would always help me out if necessary.

An additional factor would have been that I was due in Newcastle the following night for a Barclay James Harvest concert but surely that wouldn’t have prevented me from going to this one as well, would it? I don’t think so. Sailor were already one of my favourite bands so I can’t see my having passed up this chance to catch them again, so let’s just run with it and say that I was there, and I had a great time – I usually did! 🙂

The date ties in with the October release of ‘Trouble‘, their second album. Sadly there is no confirmed setlist to be found anywhere as far as I can discover, so we will have to guess that the setlist incorporated tracks from this is new record as well as their eponymous debut LP.

Setlist: unknown1975_10SAILOR album

2 thoughts on “Sailor: Wednesday 29th October 1975, The Penthouse, Scarborough”

  1. I’m not convinced this one took place either, certainly I didn’t go. The Penthouse Poster (generally taken as being definitive) lists three Sailor gigs in 1975, which would suggest it did happen, but a separate document I have shows them only playing twice that year. This gig was in my diary but crossed off for some reason, which may mean it was cancelled or maybe just that I couldn’t get there with it being midweek. If the gig did take place, it would have been about a week before A Glass of Champagne was released, so they would surely have played it?

    Like

    1. You could well be right, Steve, which might explain why I can’t 100% confirm my being there.
      As we know, bands sometimes “pulled” at the last minute (AC/DC being a good example).

      Roger 🤟

      Like

Leave a comment