Kevin Coyne, Scarborough Penthouse

Kevin Coyne: Wednesday 11th June 1975, The Penthouse, Scarborough

1975 KEVIN COYNE MatchingThe ‘Matching Head and Feet’ tour

Kevin Coyne (vocals) / Andy Summers (guitars) / Zoot Money (keyboards, vocals) / Archie Legget (bass) / Peter Woolf (drums, percussion)

Here’s another one that I don’t really remember in any great detail but I know that I went because I remember having seen them and this was my only opportunity.

I’ve heard some of Coyne’s music in the intervening years and, to be honest, it’s not my cup of tea, so I doubt that I would have particularly enjoyed this gig. Knowing me I would have come away feeling quite ambivalent because it’s not horrendous, but it’s not appealing either (as far as I am concerned anyway). I also know that I didn’t go out of my way to see him again or even buy/borrow any of his records at the time so I think that pretty much sums up my attitude toward Coyne’s material. I also seem to remember John Peel making a big thing about Coyne, not that he ever particularly influenced me anyway.

There are no recorded setlists so we will have to assume that they played a selection of songs from their then current album as well as his previous albums, ‘Case History’, ‘Marjory Razorblade’ and ‘Blame It On The Night’.

I know that the Melody Maker article below is illegible – I can’t make it in any bigger as it just pixelates too much – but it does at least clearly confirm the members of the band (it’s dated May 1975). And a name worth noting there is the guitarist, Andy Summers would move on in another couple of years to join a small-time outfit called The Police; I wonder whatever became of them…?

As a postscript to all of this, in later life Coyne would become a hero to such rock luminaries as John Lydon (aka Johnny Rotten) and Sting. He would also go on to suffer a nervous breakdown and have increasing difficulties with drink before dying in 2004 aged just sixty.

And finally, the date on the official poster below could quite possibly be wrong; he almost definitely played on Wednesday 11th, not Friday 13th. I include below the appropriate page from Steve Toal’s diary although, by his own admission, “I am thinking my dates may well be a day or so out; I am not sure many dates are that reliable any more. The book is only evidence of actually seeing the bands and there are many gaps in that as well. You know what a state I could be in some nights!” 😁

Setlist: unknown

1975_06
June 1975

IMG_20221120_2011571975 KEVIN COYNE band1975 KEVIN COYNE band breakdown

Leave a comment