Scarborough Penthouse, SNAFU

SNAFU: Friday 16th January 1976, The Penthouse, Scarborough

1975 SNAFU AllThe ‘All Funked Up’ tour

Bobby Harrison (vocals, percussion) / Micky Moody (guitar, mandolin, vocals) / Tim Hinkley (keyboards, vocals) / Colin Gibson (bass) / Terry Popple (drums, percussion)

I had seen this band back in August 1975 at Reading and was greatly impressed by them. What helped was that I liked – and now love – American bands Little Feat and The Allman Brothers, both of whom seemed to me to be role models for Bobby Harrison’s band. I had bought the ‘All Funked Up’ LP which I’m guessing that they were still plugging around this time; they certainly played at least three songs from it. The setlist below, taken from a live CD recorded at Nottingham Trent Polytechnic Refectory in the same month, is a good guide to the material that they were using at the time so I’d guess that it has to be very, very similar to the one that we got. The only other song that I definitely remember them playing for sure is ‘Lock and Key’ because I loved the slide guitar employed in that. And I’ve also a feeling that we got ‘Bloodhound’ too. Anyway, six months on and SNAFU were a much tighter band in the hot, sweaty atmosphere of the Penthouse as opposed to the huge open air arena that was Reading. The heady mix of rock and funk had us up and boogying throughout. We could tell there and then that Micky Moody was going to be a star and indeed he would be gone within a few weeks, taking up residency in David Coverdale’s Whitesnake. Harrison would try to keep SNAFU together but things would all fall apart in a short while. Which is a pity, because they were definitely a very good studio band but more especially so out on the road, and I count myself lucky to have seen them twice when they were pretty much at their peak.

Probable setlist (in no particular order): Don’t Keep Me Wondering; Long Gone; Big Legged Woman; Every Little Bit Hurts; Unsettled Dust; Highway; Lock and Key; Bloodhound1976_011976 SNAFU Nottingham1975 SNAFU All

Leave a comment